Follow Art Criticism Today on Twitter | Follow the Editor on Twitter | Follow the Editor on

‘Nude Prize’ 2015 shortlist

Vanessa Beecroft, 2014. Title by Jeffrey Deitch. Photo: Fondazione Furla
  • Twitter
  • AOL
  • Gmail
  • Print Friendly
  • Yahoo Mail

Vanessa Beecroft, 2014. Title by Jeffrey Deitch. Photo: Fondazione Furla

Five international artists have been shortlisted for the 2015 Furla Art Award, called ‘The Nude Prize’ for its tenth edition, Fondazione Furla announced.

The winner from the shortlist, comprising Luigi Coppola, Maria Adele Del Vecchio, Francesco Fonassi, Maria Iorio and Raphael Cuomo and Gian Maria Tosatti, will be announced 18 November 2014 at the Palazzo Reale, Milan. Each of the finalists has been asked to present a new project proposal based on which the jury will choose the winner.

Five young Italian curators paired with five foreign colleagues to select the finalists. Vanessa Beecroft, who conceived the title, is the guiding artist for the 2015 Furla Art Award and chairs an international jury.

‘The Nude Prize’ is the title chosen this edition of the Furla Art Award, a biennial prize for contemporary art dedicated to emerging Italian artists.

Conceived and curated by Chiara Bertola, the Premio Furla was founded in 2000 at Fondazione Querini Stampalia in Venice. Over its 15-year history the award has grown and evolved, building a reputation as the leading Italian prize for young contemporary artists, through a format that has always involved carefully mapping the national artistic landscape. It focuses on professional growth and the production of new works by the chosen artists.

Since 2009, the selection of the five finalists has been entrusted to five young Italian curators paired with internationally renowned guest curators, who together embark on a “journey” through emerging Italian art that harnesses the potential of dialogue and exchange between different professional backgrounds.

The selecting curators were paired and chose artists as follows:

  • Viviana Checchia (Curator YAYA2014, Ramallah and co-founder and curator of Vessel, Bari) and Tara McDowell (USA/Australia, Associate Professor and Director of Curatorial Practice, Monash University, Melbourne) selected Luigi Coppola (b1972)
  • Alessandro Facente (independent critic and curator) and Chelsea Haines (USA, independent curator) chose Gian Maria Tosatti (b1980)
  • Simone Frangi (Artistic Director, Viafarini DOCVA, Milan, and Professor of Contemporary Art Theory at Ecole Supérieure d’Art e de Design, Grenoble) and Virginie Bobin (France, independent critic and curator) chose Maria Iorio (b1975) and Raphael Cuomo (b1977)
  • Antonello Tolve (independent critic and curator) and Branka Bencic (Croatia, independent curator) selected Maria Adele Del Vecchio (b1976)
  • Chiara Vecchiarelli (independent critic and curator) and Sofia Hernandez Chong Cuy (Mexico/USA, Curator of Contemporary Art, Colección Patricia Phelps de Cisneros, New York) selected Francesco Fonassi (b1986)

The 2015 jury chaired by Beecroft includes Teresa Gleadowe, Chair, Nottingham Contemporary, Nottingham (United Kingdom); Alya Sebti, Artistic Director, 5th Marrakech Biennale (Morocco); Benno Tempel, Director, Foundation Gemeentemuseum Den Haag, The Hague (The Netherlands) and Barbara Hernandez, Director, SOMA (Mexico).

The 2015 edition marks an important development, Fondazione Furla said. The award is moving to Milan in partnership with the Municipal Office of Culture and Palazzo Reale, in collaboration with Fondazione Querini Stampalia in Venice, and miart and Viafarini in Milan.

The winner will get the opportunity to study and work in Mexico through a three-month artist residency at SOMA, a platform dedicated to cultural exchange and arts pedagogy founded in Mexico City in 2009.

In addition the winner will get the chance to create the proposed work with support from Fondazione Furla; the piece will be available for public viewing through a loan to Museo del Novecento in Milan, and will be presented in Milan during miart 2015, the International Art Fair of Modern and Contemporary Art, in April 2015, and in Venice at the Fondazione Querini Stampalia in May 2015, during the 56th Venice Biennale.

Planned and curated by Chiara Bertola, the award includes an advisory panel of Chiara Bertola, Giacinto di Pietrantonio, Gianfranco Maraniello, Viktor Misiano and Diego Sileo.

Author: ACTEditor

Share This Post On
Follow Art Criticism Today on Twitter | Follow the Editor on Twitter | Follow the Editor on
Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!

Share This

Share this post with your friends!